Wells Chapter Xi of New York

First Year Book Awards

About the Award

The ΦΒΚ First Year Book Award has, since 2009, been presented at Fall Convocation to that member of the previous year's first-year class who demonstrated high academic achievement and showed great promise in fulfilling other of the Phi Beta Kappa ideals.

Past Recipients

Venue: PBK Visiting Scholar lecture, February 2013
Awardee: Mikayla Kravetz
Awardee: Melina Hagstrom
Award: Ginkgo: The Tree That Time Forgot by Sir Peter Crane (2012-2013 Visiting Scholar)
Venue:PBK Visiting Scholar lecture, October 2011
Awardee: Melissa Fortin
Award: Why Do Men Barbecue? Recipes for a Cultural Psychology by Richard Shweder (2011-2012 Visiting Scholar)
Venue:Fall Convocation, August 2010
Awardee: Kathryn Shriver
Award: Lives of a Cell: Notes of a Biology Watcher by Lewis Thomas
Venue:Fall Convocation, August 2009 (Inaugural Award)
Awardee: Emily A. Young
Awardee: Louis Matthew DiSalvo
Award: Your Inner Fish: A Journey into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body by Neil Shubin (2008 winner of the ΦΒΚ Science Book Award)
Award: Plows, Plagues, and Petroleum: How Humans Took Control of Climate by William F. Ruddiman (2006 winner of the ΦΒΚ Science Book Award)