Wells College Science Colloquium
Fall 2010


Science Colloquium features speakers in all areas of the sciences, including Wells students and faculty, and researchers from other institutions. Science Colloquium meets on Fridays during the fall and spring semesters from 12:40 to 1:30 in Stratton Hall 209. All are welcome to attend. For further information, please contact Professor Scott Heinekamp or Professor Christina Wahl

DATE SPEAKER/EVENT
Friday, September 3 Summer Internship Poster Session in Stratton Atrium, 12:30-1:30 (sponsor: Professor Godert)
Friday, September 10 Karen Sime, SUNY Oswego (host: Thomas Vawter) Specialization in Parasite Wasps: Behavioral and Ecological Constraints on Host Use
Friday, September 17 Alan Grossfield, University of Rochester Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics (host: Scott Heinekamp) Exploring Membrane Biophysics using Computer Simulation
Friday, September 24 Vanessa Moore, Student researcher at National Institute of Allergies and Infectious Diseases (host: Christina Wahl) The Effect of Brugia Malayi Microfilaria on Human Monocyte/Macrophage Population
Friday, October 1 Christina Wahl, Wells College Department of Biology (Host: Scott Heinekamp) Growing up in the Dark: Vision without Sunlight
Friday, October 8 [Fall Break begins: no talk]
Friday, October 15 Dr. Hilary Lambert, Watershed Steward, Cayuga Lake Watershed Network (Host: Niamh O'Leary) Notes Toward a Comparison of Environmentalism in Central and Northern Appalachia (KY and NY)
Friday, October 22 Paul Feeny, Cornell University (Host: Tom Vawter) Roles of Plant Chemistry in the Ecology and Evolution of Swallowtail Butterflies
Friday, October 29 Lars Rudstam, Director of Cornell Oneida Lake Research Station (host: Tom Vawter) Fisheries Management in an Ecosystem Context: the Oneida Lake Experience
Friday, November 5 Matt Tiscareno, Cornell University and Wells College (host: Scott Heinekamp) Saturn's Rings: A Nearby Astrophysical Disk
Friday, November 12 Professor James Dabrowiak, Syracuse University (host: Chris Bailey) Metals in Medicine
Friday, November 19 Theodore Dibble, Chemistry Department, SUNY-Environmental Science and Forestry (host: Chris Bailey) Trees as Chemical Plants: Atmospheric fate of Isoprene
Friday, November 26 [Thanksgiving Break: no talk]
Friday, December 3 Irene Alexandra Amaro, Cornell University (provisional host: Candace Collmer) Viruses in cancer treatment
Friday, December 10 Professor Leo Fleishman, Union College (host: Christina Wahl) A Llizard's Eye View of the World in Color and Motion

Information for presenters.

Previous schedules:

Return to Wells College Home Page