Wells College Science Colloquium
Spring 2011


Science Colloquium features speakers in all areas of the sciences, including Wells students and faculty, and researchers from other institutions. Science Colloquium meets on Fridays during the fall and spring semesters from 12:40 to 1:30 in Stratton Hall 209. All are welcome to attend. For further information, please contact Professor Scott Heinekamp or Professor Christina Wahl

DATE SPEAKER/EVENT
Friday, February 4 Internship Poster Session in Stratton Atrium, 12:30-1:30
Friday, February 11
Friday, February 18
Friday, Februrary 25 Alexandra Lodge Necroptotic and Apoptotic Mechanisms of Bnip3-Mediated Cell Death and Their Effects on Cancer Prognosis
Friday, March 4 Kassie Stepniak Does Wood Density Affect Wood Decay?
Sarah Brenner Effects of Histamine Toxicity Potentiators on the Biogenic Amine Index as a Quality Indicator for Fish Products
Wednesday, March 9 Elizabeth Raymond Iron Release From Native and Affinity Labeled Ovotransferrin by the Chelator Deferiprone
Anna Breard TBA
Friday, March 11 No Colloquium: Activism Symposium
Wednesday, March 16 (NOTE: room change to Zabriskie Lecture Hall) Jackie Ross Cobalt bis (dicarbollides) and Its Variants Serve as the Most Suitable Inhibitors for the HIV-1 Protease
Kayleigh Reid The Influence of Thyroid Hormone and Type II Iodothyronine & Iodotyrosine Deiodinases on Neonatal Development
Friday, March 18 No Colloquium: Imminent Spring Break
Friday, April 1 Mindy LaMier Developmental Neurotoxicity of the Organophosphate Chlorpyrifos and its Regulation by the EPA
Lorina LaMier The Effect of Anoxia on Spontaneous Limb movement in Developing Chick Embryos
Friday, April 8 Sara Chiochetti Mapping Acetylation Sites of Cdc25A
Ashley Marcinkiewicz TBA
Friday, April 15 Samantha Hessling Effects of Caffeine on Embryonic Cardiovascular Development
Matt Crandall Stochastic Resonance and NMR
Friday, April 22 Emily Northrup Math Education
Alison Marchione A Comparative Analysis of the Microbial Ecology of Agricultural Fields Under Conventional and Organic Management
Friday, April 29 Neale Petrillo Droid OBD Interface Systems
Michael Bailey NASA Computer Systems
Wednesday, May 4 Jackie Bubnell TBA
Elizabeth Barclay The Effects of Purple Loosestrife on North American Wetlands
Friday, May 6 Evan Williamson Reintroduction of Mammals into the Adirondack Park
Michael Scharvella Game Theory and Evolution
Friday, May 13 Richaela Primus Urban Agriculture and the Food Environment
Jess Kanick Effects of Embryonic Exposure to Nicotine & Anoxia on Autonomic Innervation of the Heart

Information for presenters.
Previous schedules:

Return to Wells College Home Page